h1

Arcade Fire – The Suburbs [2010]

August 18, 2010

Post #45.  The Suburbs by Arcade Fire.  You knew this was coming (sorry DrewDrew, you had your way last week).  This Arcade Fire album takes on a more rock spirit than their previous albums and even has a somewhat shoegaze atmosphere.  The whole thing builds and builds to the end and I can’t help thinking that AF intentionally muddied up their sound and structured the album this way to give me the feeling that I’m driving through endless suburban sprawl.

The last six songs on this are fantastic, and of course Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains) is a contender for single of the year.  Enjoy!

source: pfork

6 comments

  1. I’d really like to hear a counter review by Drewdrew


  2. I love Arcade Fire! Thanks for the thoughts, Scott.


  3. I think it’s a first – I listened to this album before your review!


  4. Arcade Fire is so 2008.
    😛


  5. Hi!

    I was just searching the site for fellow Arcade Fire fans and I stumbled upon your post.

    It’s funny, I love that it’s more rocky than their previous albums, but other people I’ve spoken to feel the opposite. My brother was saying he misses the depth and layering they had in Funerals. But I think it’s still there, just not as prominent.

    I just wrote my own review of the The Suburbs and I’m looking for feedback if you’re interested. I love it! I think it’s going to be one of my all-time favourite albums.

    http://ashest.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/new-music-the-suburbs-by-arcade-fire/

    Peace,

    Ashest


  6. […] Arcade Fire – Suburbs […]



Leave a Reply

