h1

Lindstrøm and Christabelle – Real Life is No Cool [2010]

February 23, 2010

Album post #27.  Lindstrøm and Christabelle‘s album Real Life is No Cool has sexy vocals, thick beats, and a 90s pop danceability.  The 90s element is most evident in songs like Baby Can’t Stop, the answer to MJ‘s Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough, and Keep It Up, which has chimes that I swear I’ve heard in some Madonna song.  The album feels very personal to me, in part because the songs remind me of my childhood and partly because Christabelle‘s lyrics are so intimate.  The closing track, High and Low, is incredibly warm and personal.

A listening tip: skip the first minute of track 1 and all three minutes of track 9.  I can’t figure why Lindstrøm decided to break up his silky smooth album with 4 minutes of choppy backward vocals.  It really turned me off on my first listen.  I could only find 5 of the album tracks for this youtube playlistHigh and Low is my favorite track by a mile.  Be sure to also check out Aeroplane‘s remix of Baby Can’t Stop (It’s actually better than the original).

source: pfork

One comment

  1. […] 8. Lindstrøm & Christabelle – Real Life is No Cool […]



Leave a Reply

