h1

M83 – Saturdays = Youth [2008]

October 5, 2009

saturdaysAlbum Post #7.  M83‘s 2008 LP Saturdays = Youth.  I was born in the 80s but didn’t listen to much other than Raffi and Sharon, Lois, & Bram in those days.  With the exception of Tears for Fears, I don’t understand or like much music from the 80s.  And, unlike many of my generation, I find it hard to appreciate the super catchy songs of Journey and Madonna, even ironically.

The 80s shoegaze of M83 does something different to me.  Other 80s-sounding music that I’ve heard lacks the richness and evocative nature of their songs.  Somehow I feel young and hopeful when I let their layered vocals and synths pass over me.  I still can’t really figure out how I am moved so much by something so 80s.  Listen to the full album on my youtube playlist or sample a couple songs below and let me know if you figure it out.   P.S. To be fair to the artists, I included Graveyard Girl in the playlist even though I think it disrupts the flow of the album and think it is better left out.

source: runnerphoenix

4 comments

  1. i had this on my ishuffle today when i went running.. this and some AC, and karin.


  2. I really enjoyed this one.


  3. the angst and conflict of this album make it real in human terms. the life versus death theme is prominent.
    you hear this theme in the sounds, words – though they are few – and even in the cover photo. there you find youth and beauty dressed in thematic, anti-social clothing with themes of death, you’ll also see the glow of the morning sun (birth/life) set against the dying autumn leaves (death).
    saturdays=youth captures perfectly the most basic element of conflict that we live everyday.
    this by far is m83’s most complete work of art. cheers.


  4. well said, runner



Leave a Reply

